The Department of Computer Science (DCS) was established in 2002 by the University Council to mainly run programmes in Information and Communication Technology (ICT) in order to meet the increasing demand for ICT personnel and services in Kenya in particular and the African region in general. The DCS started by offering both an undergraduate degree in Computer Science and a Certificate in Computer Proficiency. Today, the department has about 5 programmes at undergraduate and post-graduate level and many more are in pipeline to meet the growing demands of the society.


University Wide Course in Information Technology. The DCS runs two 3-credit units university wide courses in Computer Science to be taken by all first year students in the university. This is inline with the MMUST ICT Policy and Master plan. Besides, the DCS services many other undergraduate and post-graduate degree courses in various schools and departments in the university.

The Ministry of Education,

Computer Studies is now part of the secondary school curricula. The Department of Computer Science plans to work with the ministry to strengthen the use of ICT in education through designing and implementing ICT programmes that target the teachers and lecturers in secondary schools and tertiary institutions. The Department of Computer Science also plans to work closely with the ministry in offering expert guidance in ICT curricula development for Kenya in particular and the African region in general.

The department on the other hand plans to develop an ICT research groups extending first class consultancy services in ICT and related areas to both the private and public sectors in Kenya and beyond. The members of the company will comprise of highly qualified and experienced staff of the DCS, with several years of research experience locally and internationally. Thematic Areas

a) Databases & Software Engineering

b) Distributed Systems and Networks 

c) eLearning Systems 

d) Information Systems

Chair of Department














Mr. Kelvin Omieno (View Profile)

Copyright © 2018. Faculty of Science | MMUST.